Compare
Kanroo vs Notion: Kanban-first, with the wiki built in
Short answer – TL;DR
Notion is a flexible workspace for docs, wikis and databases, with boards as one view. Kanroo is a Kanban tool first, with a wiki built in. Kanroo puts single sign-on (SSO) on every plan and processes workspace data in the EU on every plan; at Notion, SSO starts with Business and EU data residency is part of Enterprise.
Details checked on October 13, 2026.Sources
Key facts
License
- Kanroo
- Open-source core (AGPL-3.0)
- Notion
- Proprietary, cloud only[1]
Where data is processed
- Kanroo
- Hosted and processed in the EU: Germany, the Netherlands, France
Single sign-on (SSO)
- Kanroo
- Every Kanroo Cloud plan, Free included.
- Notion
- Business plan and higher[1]
10 seats for a year
- Kanroo
- Team €960
- Notion
- Plus €1,140 · Business €2,340[1]
List prices without VAT. Details in the cost table below.
Kanroo and Notion, row by row
Only rows we checked. Small numbers link to the sources below the table.
- Yes
- Partly
- No
| Topic | Kanroo | Notion |
|---|---|---|
| Plans and price | ||
| Plans | Free · Team · Enterprise | Free · Plus · Business · Enterprise[1] |
| Free plan | Partly:1 member, every feature, no time limit. 25 wiki pages, 5 MiB per file. | Partly:Limited blocks once 2 or more members join, 5 MB per file, 7-day page history[1] |
| Features held back for higher plans | Yes:None on Kanroo Cloud: every feature on every plan | Partly:SSO: Business. Full Notion AI: Business and higher.[1] |
| Boards | ||
| Views | Yes:Board, Swimlane, Calendar and Table on every plan | Yes:Board view in databases. Timeline view on every plan.[1] |
| Documentation | ||
| Wiki and docs | Yes:Built in: spaces, nested pages, Mermaid diagrams, version history, password-protected shares | Yes:Docs, wiki and databases are the core of the product[1] |
| AI and integrations | ||
| Built-in AI | No:None. Connect your own agent through MCP. | Yes:Notion AI; the full version on Business and higher[1] |
| Data and privacy | ||
| Where data is processed | Yes:Servers in Nuremberg (DE), files in Amsterdam (NL), email from Paris (FR) | Partly:AWS, plus Cloudflare and Google Cloud. EU data residency on Enterprise, for data at rest.[2][3] |
| Sub-processors | Yes:Public list: netcup (DE) and Scaleway (FR). Payments: Polar (US) as merchant of record. | Yes:Public list[3] |
| Openness | ||
| License | Yes:Core: AGPL-3.0. Enterprise Edition: commercial license. | No:Proprietary[1] |
| Self-hosting | Partly:Core free, without plan limits. Server features such as SSO, live updates and webhooks come with the Enterprise Edition. | No:No, cloud only[1] |
Sources
Details checked on October 13, 2026. Facts about other products come from their own pages, unless a source says otherwise.
- [1]Notion pricingnotion.com
- [2]Notion help: data residencynotion.com
- [3]Notion sub-processorstrust.notion.com
More on Kanroo:Where Kanroo hosts your dataThe open-source core and the editions
Where Kanroo is different
Built for moving tasks
Four board views, WIP limits, recurring tasks, checklists and intake forms, on every plan. Tasks and wiki pages link to each other.
SSO without the Business plan
Single sign-on works on every Kanroo Cloud plan, Free included. At Notion, SSO starts with Business.
The EU without an Enterprise contract
Kanroo hosts and processes workspace data in the EU on every plan. Notion offers EU data residency on Enterprise, for data at rest.
When Notion is the better choice
- Docs and databases matter more to you than a Kanban board. Notion’s pages and databases are far more flexible than Kanroo’s wiki.
- You want AI built into your pages and tasks.
- You need a timeline view. Notion has one on every plan; Kanroo has none yet.
- Several people want to start on a free plan. Notion’s free plan allows it, with a block limit; Kanroo Free is for one person.
Missing something in Kanroo? It may come with community interest.
Moving from Notion
Kanroo has no direct Notion importer. Export a task database as CSV and import it with column mapping. A preview shows what arrives before anything is saved.
Bring pages over as Markdown files in a ZIP. They arrive in a wiki space, where tasks and pages can link to each other.
What 10 people pay in a year
List prices without VAT, in the currency each vendor publishes, not converted.
Details checked on October 13, 2026.
| Plan | Billing | Per seat | 10 people, 1 year | SSO included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kanroo Team | Yearly | €8 a month | €960 | Yes |
| Kanroo Team | Monthly | €10 a month | €1,200 | Yes |
| Notion Plus[1] | Not stated | €9.50 a month | €1,140 | No |
| Notion Business[1] | Not stated | €19.50 a month | €2,340 | Yes |
Notion’s pricing page shows euro prices without naming the billing period. SSO at Notion needs Business.
Kanroo plans and limitsKanroo vs Notion, answered
Is Kanroo a Notion replacement?
For task boards and a team wiki, yes. For flexible databases, many page types and built-in AI, no. Kanroo is a Kanban tool with a wiki, not an all-purpose workspace.
Does Kanroo have AI like Notion AI?
No. Kanroo has no built-in AI. You can connect your own agent, such as Claude Code, through the MCP server on every plan.
Where does Kanroo store my data?
The servers are at netcup in Nuremberg, Germany. Files are stored with Scaleway in Amsterdam, and email is sent from Paris. This applies to every plan. Every party is listed on our trust page.
Can I move my Notion pages?
Yes, as Markdown files in a ZIP. Tasks move through CSV with column mapping. There is no direct Notion importer.
Is SSO extra?
No. SSO is on every Kanroo Cloud plan, Free included. Kanroo uses OIDC, with guides for Microsoft Entra ID, Okta and Keycloak.
Other comparisons
- Kanroo vs TrelloEvery view and a wiki on every plan, workspace data in the EU, and a direct Trello import.
- Kanroo vs MeisterTaskThe same Kanban-plus-notes idea, without plan unlocks, and with an open-source core.
- Kanroo vs LinearWorkspace data processed in the EU and a wiki built in, for teams beyond engineering.
Try Kanroo with your own work.
Every feature on every plan. Bring a board from the tool you use today and see how it feels.
Product names are trademarks of their owners. We name them only to compare. Comparisons reflect public information on the check date and can change. Spotted an error? Tell us through the feedback form, and we will correct it.